The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument attempts to bridge a relationship between the fact that for the past twenty years the electric generating plants were strong enough and because of new technologies there will not be an increased need of energy construction of new generating plants will not be necessary in the future. However, on deeper analysis, there are certainly important questions unanswered and facts unnoticed leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

‘’Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy’’. This seems to be a sign of energy servings. However, without additional information it is not possible to make an argument of it. There have to be information about the population in this research. Does this population generate energy of the same plants as the article noticed? Are people who eager to conserve energy are able to make this true? In addition, there is also nothing known about the group size, research method, content of the surveys and interpretation of the results. That information in required to make a cogent argument.

The article claims that new technology leads to a reduced energy need for home heating. This may be true but more information is required to assess if this is a reliable argument. It may be true that technology reduces energy need but this will not automatically mean that the need of energy decreased parallel. It may happened that people use more energy because a warm temperature is nicer.

The author claims that only home owners influenced the need of electric generating plants. However, also industry and companies use energy. It may be happened that this sector increase significantly which also influenced the need of new electric generating plants.

To conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions such as because of plants always met our needs this also will be in the future does not make any sense. The report has to present more concrete evidence to substantiated the claim and make the argument more cogent.