The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument attempts to bridge a relationship between working hours and numbers of on-the-job accidents. The conclusion is based on comparison with another company and experts findings. However, on deeper analysis, there are certainly important questions unanswered and facts unnoticed, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing claims that shorten work shifts by one hour lead to an adequate amount of sleep for employees. It is not known if there is a relationship between amounts of sleep and working hours per day. The vice president makes a false assumption that when employees could earlier leave their work, they also went earlier to bed. Everyone have some spare time and it is possible that employees are going to use this extra hour for other activities than sleeping.

Another reason to shortcut the work shifts is that another company, where work shifts are one our less, have 30 percent less on-the-job accidents. It could be true that there is a relationship between this but therefore more information is required. There are no numbers of the amount of employees in both companies. There is a possibility that there are much more employees in Quiot Manufacturing than in Panoply. In addition, there is not any information given about the type of work which is a very important factor in accident opportunities. Maybe jobs in Quiot Manufacturing are much more physical related.

Experts research tells us that there is a relationship between fatigue and sleep deprivation related to accidents. This seems to be very likely. However, there is missing some important information about the research. First, we don’t know anything about the type of research and the amount of participants. It is also not known in which type of work the research is based on. Exact values are unknown even as the validity. You can imagine that fatigue plays a more important role for a taxi driver than for a teacher related to on-the-job accidents.

For all of the above reasons, the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing has drawn a dubious conclusion. It may be likely that there is a relationship between sleep and on-the-job accidents but there have to be more details about the research, more information about the filling of the hour more spare time and the relation between the two businesses the vice president compared to each other. If this information is available the argument of the vice president would be more convincing.