The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The conclusion of this prompt is to advice investors and client to invest in Techcorporation which is a FTA satellite approved provider based on some consumer survey carried out. It would be unwise for these clients to invest in this company without considering carefully the state and unstated assumptions in this prompt. The conclusion is quite flawed and some considerations need to be put inplace before client invests.

Firstly, The prompt clearly relies on the fact that the consumer survey shows more than enough reason for the clients to invest in techcorporation. This line of reasoning is flawed as we dont know the kind of questions asked in the survey that would infer people are dissatisfied with their current provider. It might just be that they are dissatified with the current customer support or just the payment plan, this is not enough premise for one to conclude that such consumer would want to leave and opt for another service or satellite provider. If this survey isn't carried out to meticulously and well detailed, it would be hard to make a conclusion based on the aforementioned premise

Futhermore, the prompt clearly states that 80 percent of the respondent showed they were dissatisfied with the current satellite providers. 80 percent of respondents might be a very insignificant proportion of the whole satellite provider. It might just be that 100 consumer of the whole 200 million consumers responded and taking the response of 80 people out of the 200 million people using this service can be a very ridiculous action. The clients need to justify this number and be sure that the 80 percent of those that responded that they were dissatisfied with this service are actually a very significant compared to the whole consumer group.

Finally, The prompt strongly, states that Techcorporation is approved by FTA so as to come off as a strong ground to the clients. FTA needs to be clearly studied, Are they a governing body for satellite providers?, Are they widely known? and do they have a strong say in the decision making for consumers to shift from their current providers?. these questions need to be answered by the clients before making a capricious decision on whether to invest or not. Answering positive to the question can be a strong point for the clients to invest but if negative, other assumptions need to be fully studied before investing.

In conclusion, The premise for the conclusion is fully flawed the above points and assumptions need to be studied, reviewed and understood before investors put a chunk load of money in Techco