Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Blogs have been a recent means of disseminating one’s thoughts and opinions about different issues ranging from imperative topics like socioeconomics and politics to more trivial issues like fashion and sports. It's uncommon for a person with access to the internet not to read at least three blog posts in a day, either searching for a blog post about a particular issue just random surfing the internet on interesting issues and opinions. The prompt here then claims that the advent of online Blogosphere and social media has crucially undermined the quality of political discussions in the United states reason been, any Tom, Dick, or Harry can publish his or her opinions on politics hereby reducing the standards for news coverage and political topics. I quite disagree with this premise and argue that online Blogosphere and social media have even improved the dissemination of news and political topics for three reasons.

Firstly, social media has become a safe haven for the common populace to voice their complains, disagreements and issues about certain political, economic and financial decisions made by the Government. Without these media, the government has very little means of getting feedback on its decisions and policies from its remote citizens: people living in inaccessible areas. For example, in Nigeria, where news travels with the speed of light even to inaccessible places that don’t have roads. An Educational bill was passed that children of civil servants who have passed a certain age shouldn't be entitled to discounted educational fees. This bill was passed without the governments considering people in the provincial parts of the country. It was later brought to light through the help of online blogs and social media that children in these areas start education really late and hereby might not have access to the reduced educational fees if the bill wasn't revised or annulled. The bill was later revised after people advocated for its annulment. The above example shows the power of Blogs and Social media on news coverage.

Furthermore, the advent of these forums and media has helped the populace get unadulterated information rather than biased information released by news channels. Most news channels are owned by politicians or either by people with close ties with politicians or the politician are part of the company as patrons. It would be difficult for such an organization to release pristine information especially if such news would unequivocally damage such a politician’s reputation or the image of the party. Online blogs make politicians mortal, hereby not allowing them to have total control of news dissemination.

Finally, Political issues, topics and issues are fostered on blogs and social media, new lights are brought out by different parties, arguments foster learning and also aid the uninterested populace know the current happenings in the country and the world at whole. By Statistics, the average amount of hours spent on social media daily is about 3hrs, meaning no matter how busy I might be, I can still afford to spend 3hrs on social media rather than reading a newspaper or watch a newscast on TV. Even newscasting companies have seen this trend and have started incorporating a blog and social media-centered news delivery system, hereby given them further reach than the traditional system.

Of course, some may argue political opinions are always different and people are always coming up with different articles to oppose government policies hereby lowering political issues around the globe, but isn’t that the beauty of Blogs and social media?. You have the power to express your views unambiguously and resonate with like minds, argue opposing views, understand the different standpoint and finally propose a level ground for individual views