All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Consultancy is one of the growing occupations here in the western world, where anyone with basic theoretical know-how or a Doctorate calls himself/herself a consultant. Companies hiring consultants and paying valuable money to these individuals who hardly know how the business runs daily is counterproductive. I'll agree with the prompt that it's best to listen to employees who understand the business than to hire consultants for the company to operate effectively.

To begin with, A company's employee who spends about 12 hours in the company's daily business activities would know best about the strength and weakness of a firm. Alehandro, who has been a staff at Kaplan for about 10 years knows every detail about the company, its allies, its strengths, its competitors and much more. He knows how best to advise the firm on different matters ranging from recruitment of new staffs who share the company's ideals and culture to how to handle new clients and customer retainment. It would even be more productive for Matt who is the CEO of Kaplan to Listen to what Alehandro and his other colleagues have to stay than to hire a consultant who would still need to listen to the likes of Alehandro to solidify his research and give feedback. Hiring consultant is not productive since one would pay valuable money for very little details compared to getting advice from employees.

Also, Listen to the employees gives a sense of ownership to the employees. It makes them feel part of the firm and this in turns increases productivity and also the efficiency of the company. Alehandro and his colleague won't feel left out in decision making and would understand that decisions made in the firm are for the growth of the firm and its employees. A research by Google suggests that Companies who operate an Autocratic kind of organization always tend to fail within two/three years of operation due to most of their good employees leaving the system.

Although, hiring Consultants would help one see things from another perspective and also bring new ideas at the cost of valuable money, but these ideas can be effectively gotten from listen deeply to employees and once refined help the company operate effectively.