The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors."Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food s

In this letter, the author recommends that the stockholdes of Old Dairy Industries should sell their shares and no more purchasing stock is advsied to the investor to this company. To prove the suggestion, the author argues that the prediliction of consumers is the low-fat foods due to a survey while the Old Dairy produced the high fat and cholestrol products. Hence the sales of the company would diminish dramastically as well as the profits. The author's evidence seems to be compelling while there are some loopholes in this statement. Let's reexamine them carefully.

To begin wih, the recent survey is unconvincing at all. Firstly, the numbers are vague which merely shows the 80 percent of the respodents would like to reduce the intake of fat and cholesterol. While we do not know how many respodents in totall as well as what kind of group of people involved in the survey. Maybe there are few people in a major city of US took the survey while the Old Dairy is a company locates at South Africa where some of the people are still starving. Secondly, the intends of them to show their proclivity are also in question. As it is true for almost everyone wants to be healthy by the means of eating healhty food with low-fat and cholesterol as we educated in the school, while whether they told the truth is hard to say, as people, on the other hand, are also acctracted by the foods like cakes or cheese which in high fat and cholesterol. So this indication of the eating healthier may be the best wish for some of them.

In addtion, the author should not make this conclusion that the sales and profits of old dairy will diminish due to the prodctions of theirs before aware of the overall conditions of the company. First of all, as a company, they could sell not only a kind of products with high fat and cholesterol. Without the notice of the auhor , Maybe the Old Dairy company sells milk in high possiblity, but the milk is healthy for amlost everyone, and it is essential for the people who want to take low-fat diet as an important supply of Calcium and V-D. Secondly, it would be hasty to predict the depression of the company as the sales and profits are not determined only by the products of the company, the cost of the product and human cost will also affect the sales and benefits together, even if the advertisment will attribute to the income of the company. So the author should make a wide survey of this company firstly.

Finally, let's dive into the stocks, which is unpredictable. With the uncertainty of the stock, it would be premature to make conclusions so early. As time gone by, the company should be resposible for their stockholders when there is really a decreasing profits which may or not shows on the market.Maybe by the modifying marketing and products, the share of the company will increase significantly in the future.

In all, as the old saying goes there are lots of risks in the stock market, everyone in the market should be prudent. Let's get back to the Old Dairy, maybe the author makes a right concern, but he should prove it by more convincing evidence to show the conditions of the company as well as the local food markets and people's preference.