The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors."Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat produc

In the preceding argument the author states that Old dairy stockholders have to sell their shares and investors do not to purchase stock from this company because the company products contain high fat and cholesterol, consequently, sales are likely to diminish and the company profits will decrease, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, he states a survey indicates that 80 percent of people show a desire to reduce the fat and high cholesterol foods. Further, many foods stores sell low fat food. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author states that Old diary company has to sell their shares and other investors do not have to purchase the company's stock. On one hand, the author readily states a survey to boost his position. In deed, he fails to mention multifarious factors such as is the sample size enough? Further, is it representative enough to draw a broad conclusion? is the 80% people will do their desire or it will be just a desire? Thus, all these factors play a major role to extrapolate the results hence, the author fails to mention the controlling variables to conclude a valuable recommendations.

Secondly, the fallacy of the argument also lies in using undefined words such as "many" stores what the author means of this words or what is the precise number that "many" is reflected. Perhaps is not significant enough to make any changes. Thus, he has to be precise and specific to strengthen his position.

Thirdly, even there is a relation between Old's food high in fat and the company's sales prediction that the profits will diminish this does not necessarily indicts a conspicuous relation. In other words, he fails to mention from where he concluded the results and how the strong relation is. Perhaps the sale's company are depended on feckless assumption and they have to measure the real situation by using research methods or other variables.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one key factor. Namely, all the previous assumption are equivocal. Consequently, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.