The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that, to improve higher profit margine and growth, companies thould hire employees with lower sleep requirement. This argument does not consider many other aspects while arriving to the given conclusion.

The argument does not consider the fact that sleep requirements for humans is related to the respective age. Older people require less sleep than comparatively younger persons. Though, this might not be true for all people, but can be considered when generalizing the sleep requirement of employees or executives. The reason for lower average sleep requirement may be higher average age of the employees.

Also, we need to consider the overall productivity and work hours of the employee. It can be the case that all in the given company are much more qualified than the competition. It can also be the case that the employees are simply more hard working or work for long hours. This helps reduce person-hours and thus, costs, which increases profit margin. It might also be the case where employees are forced to work long hours and get less sleep. We can also consider that the executives are simply more productive.

Moreover, there can be the case where the study is biased and most of the employees who participated in the study have already lower sleep requirements.

There might be other factors which contribute to the success of the firm. These may include, a monopoly like business, where the mentioned firm is the only supplier of the product and thus, can have high profit margins. Also, there can be a case where the firm is in a highly profitable business.

We should not neglect the fact that employees or executives with higher sleep requirements may have even higher productivity as compared to their counterparts, who require less sleep.

Therefore, a firm should consider above mentioned factors while deciding to employee executives with lower sleep requirements. For a business to success, innovation is of paramount importance and thus, it is the innovation that should be of main focus, in the long term. Also, hiring employees with lower sleep requirements cannot garuntee higher profitability or growth, as we are not considering market scenario and productivity of the employees.