As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans are possibly the most advanced species to ever exist on Earth. We, as a species, started from using a few pieces of stones and branches, a few thousand years ago, to using some of the most advanced technologies.

The Invention of artificial means to ignite fire is considered to be one of the first and also one of the most important invention, as it helped our ancestors to evolve into modern humans and greately improved their quality of life. Invention of fire enabled us to cook food and avoid predeators. The cooked food was comparatively easier for our bodies to digest, with that, our ancestors could absorb more nutrients from the the same quantity of food, which inturn helped grow out intellect and provided us with more spare time to work on other things, because the overall food requirement was minimized.

With time, the higher intellect helped our ancestors to work on other things like, farming and tools, farming helped us settle at one piece of land, rather than moving from place to place, this created the concept of villages and kingdoms.

In the 20th century, the invention of the processes to generate ammonia artificially helped us with the new green revolution, thus, we obtained the ability to increase fertility of land and feed our descendents. Then came automation, in the mid 20th century, which was first thought to make our lives easier and humans lazier, with lower intellect. This was definately not true. The automation provided us with time to work on more advanced technologies, like internet, space travel, medical breakthroughs, etc.

With the arrival of internet, the digital revolution began, which was further accelerated with advancements in semiconductor technology. This has made our lives much easier. Some of us might no longer have to remember contact details of a person of place, rather, we can directly look for it on the internet or in the contact book in out hand held devices.

One may think that, this has made our lives easier, at the same time decreasing our ability to think for ourselves, this is certainly not true. Though technology has made our lives easier, it has provides us with time, ability and technology to work on higher levels of technologies. For example, consider, computers and semiconductors where never invented, we would have to do all mathamatical calculations manually and there would have been no space travel, no telecommunications and ou lives would have been much different. I beleive, technology does not affect our ability to think for ourselves, rather, it provides us with means to solve the current problems faster or completely remove them and work on other problems. This helps us advance as a civilization. I would further say that, technology improves our intellect rather than the opposite.