Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight

The argument states that unmanned spaceflights should be preffered over the manned ones because of economical factors involved in space exploration. The argument assumes that all objectives that can be achieved by a manned spaceflight can also be achieved by using an unmanned vehicle. The argument does not consider that symbolic and psycological factors associated with space flight, manned or unmanned. We need to analyze all these factors before arriving to a conclusion.

Humanity's curiocity for space, the universe and our own existence, since thousands of years compelled us to delevope the technology which led us to our first manned space flight in the second half of 20th century. The cold war led to many advancements in rocket and aerospace technology and then, the space race began, which resulted in the first moon landing. This had many social and psycological implication for humans all around the globe. It would be fair to say that 'A small step on the moon, a big step for humanity'.

In the 21st century, the humanity's pursuit for space travel and curiocity to uncover the the unknown 'facts' about our own creation and that of our universe led us to have many space programs over the years. Many of those are unmanned projects. The most well known are the European Space Agency's Cassini and NASA's Voyger Space crafts. Manned and Unmanned space programmes generally have very different objectives; manned programs are mostly symbolic in nature, in some cases involve final stage research to conclude a project involving previously sent unmanned space crafts. One such example is the planned Mars mission, the main objective of the mission is to demonstrate the possibility of terraforming Mars and even a possibility of future human settlement,i.e. colonization.

The unmanned space crafts are generally employed in situations where it is not possible or feasible to have human space flights, i.e. the factors like health risk, psycological effects of isolation and very limited human interaction are considered. It is true that human spaceflight are comparatively very expensive but are also an important technology to master, if we, humans plan to colonoze other worlds and start our voyage in this universe.

The choice between human space flight and an unmanned space exploration mission should be based purely on the mission objectives and human space flights should be developed based on our hunger to wander around this universe. Therefore, it would not be appropriate to invest all of our resources only in unmanned space space flights, as the manned missions are equally or in some cases even more important in the long run, if we humans, plan to travel to and colonize other worlds.