Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The given statement argues about the importance of computers in our daily lives. Indeed, they have become an inseprable part of our lives in this contemporary world. Therefore, I would mostly agree with the given statement.

We use computers every day and our lives have become somewhat dependent on computers too. Computers are used everywhere for Desigining Clothes to Space Exlporation. It can be said that computers have greatly helped us, as a species, to achieve uncountable scientific endaevors. Diverting tedious and repetative tasks to computers has provided us with time and resources to focus on more advanced technologies; particularly in the field of Space Exploration and Health.

Computers have affected our lifestyle in a way no one would have imagined a century ago. With the invention of the Internet and Social Media, this large world has become 'smaller'. With the click of a button, one could virtually travel thousands of kilometers to the other side of our planet. Similarly, Computers have helped us garner information required to answer one of the most prominent questions of the human mind : "Are we Alone ?". It has helped us capture images of Black Holes, distant Galaxies, Stars and our own Solar System.

Therefore, I would day that it would not be wrong to say that computers are one of the most important inventions in modern history. The importance of Computers and other electronics is so much so that we often regard the current age as the "Computer Age". Nowadays, the advances in Artificial Intelligence has opened a completely new chapter in this Information Age, as we try to achieve 'Singularity'. That is, the point where we create an Artificial Intelligence with intelligence comparable to Humans or even surpass that of Humans.