All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

I disagree with the given statement. It states that it is better to use employee feedback instead of hiring consultants, there are several factors which are not considered while suggesting that employee feedback should be considered insted of hiring consulting firms.

It would be appropriate to say that employees have better understanding about the internal working of the company, as compared to that of a consulting firm because the consulting firm would only have limited information about the company, as much as provided by the concerned authority or from documents.

Also, it is plausible to say that the consulting firm would have considerable amount of experience, gained by working with other companies and this experience might be useful for the client. It would also help the client avoid some structural of financial mistakes which might have been unavoidable if the company would have purely considerd the suggestions and feedback provided by the company's employees.

Moreover, the company's administration might suspect that the staff/employees would provide information/suggestions which might be some how advantageous to them, creating a conflict of intrest. Thus, it becomes important for the company to have an opinion of a third party.

Though, it might be appropriate to rely on some of employee's suggestions, it is favoured to take help from a consulting firm, as it is the investor or the owner whose intrests and capital are very much important for the company and its survival. Thus, ultimately the investor's intrests and suggestions should be favourd upon all.

One might also argue that since employees are better aware of the company's problems or issues, they can better point out issues and provide appropriate suggestions.

To conclude, I would say that hiring appropriate third party consultants is a better decision compared to considering employee's suggestions. Further, I would say that the employee's suggestions should be considered upto certain extent and could be shared with the consulting firm for better analysis.