The Best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

It is widely beleived that, for a country to exist, all of its people should have a common identity. This concept of having a common identity creates a sense of belonging among the people. It is this sense of belonging that makes a piece of land and many groups of people, a nation.

If the goverment encourages the competition in social aspects of life, it may lead to disastorous consequences. For example, extreme competition among young citizens of a nation or inter community competition may lead to groupism, which may lead to civil war like situations. This is because, when one group or a person tries to be overly competitive, it may undermine interests of other people, thus, causing conflict of interests.

The same is also true for an organization or industry. In case of extreme competition, the industry of company may end up harming interests of the workers involved in the industries. In some cases it may also lead to corruption. Fo example, if two or more employees compete for same position in the company, some may end up bribing the concerned officials to get the position. In this case, the sence of competition within the company may harm the overall leadership of the compny in the long run.

In some situations competition might be advantagous for a particular group of people. Consider a competition among companies which offer similar products, in this case the competition may end up being advantegous to the customer, as he/she may get a better quality product at a lower prices.

Cooperation becomes important in case of leadership roles, this is because, all people don't have same type of qualities and same kind of approach towards the society. In this case cooperation among people responsible for, say, a decision of product developement can take steps which appeal to a larger section of society. In case of goverments, collaboration and cooperation among political leaders becomes important for a country's developement and for the good of its citizens.

To conclude, I would say that a sense of belonging and cooperation becomes very important when considering leadership roles, weather it is a company or government. Collaboration improves overall decision making process, thus, avoidiong conflict of interest situations. Tis leads to prosperity of a nation, company or any other institution.