"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument states that increasing the advertisement revenue might help spread awareness among the viewers and thus, increase the number of viewers.

The argument by the advertising director fails to address that, the reason for a decrease in number of viewers may be a result of increased prices of the movie ticket. This increase in prices has discouraged some people from watching the company's films. Also, the reason for better content reviews may be a result of retention of customers who, inspite of increased prices, loved to watch the production company's movies, i.e. they are loyal customers. This has resulted in people who disliked their movies to avoid watching it, at a higher ticket cost, thus decreasing the amount of negative reviews, and improving the overall ratings.

There might also be the case that the advertsting director is simply ignoring or overlooking the fact that the quality of his company's movies has indeed degraded, and misinterpreting this fact by looking only at the positivity ratio of the reviews.

One can also argue that, although the director thinks that there is a lack of awareness amongst people about the company's movies, the inverse might also be true. It might be the case that people are very well aware about the company's productions but have been discouraged from watching the films due to number of reasons, which may include degradation of the quality of movies or simply, a competition to the company, which produces better quality movies and has better customer appeal.

The above mentioned aspects of the argument needs to be analyzed before arriving at a decision about increasing the advertising budget, as it may not only result in no or negligible gain to the company in terms of number of viewers, but also increased costs or losses for the company. In the end, it is important for the company to increase its viewer base, as it is the viewer base which largely contributes to the revenue.