some people say advertising is extremely success cult in persuading us to buy things. Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Most of us buy things we need in our day-to-day lives, regularly from the Supermarkets. It is true that many external factors may affect our decisions about the same.

The Advertising industry has been in existence from several decades now. Advertisements are designed to persuade us to buy the company’s products. Corporations spend billions of pounds on advertising, every year. If it was not true that advertising helps increase revenue then these organizations would not have spent such huge sums of money for advertising.

In the age of targeted advertisement tactics. A customer’s personal data can provide a notable insight about his/her spending patterns and preferences. This data is used for targeted advertisements. For example: It often occurs that after searching about certain product, say, a mobile phone, we are shown advertisements about different mobile phones belonging to the same category or related products like screen protector or back cover. Since, the customer was earlier willing to purchase the particular item, it is also likely that he/she will buy related products which other customers often buy together. In this case, advertisements could improve sales.

Meanwhile, it is also true that people have become somewhat sceptical about advertisements and no longer trust them as much as they used to, earlier. This has led some people to believe that advertisements are useless. For example: If we consider the case of newspapers, nowadays they are covered with a large number of advertisements. Thus, it has become relatively less likely that the customer would give much attention to all such advertisements.

To conclude, I would day that limited and targeted advertisements could be pretty helpful for the company and could improve sales. But, at the same time excessive advertisements could cost money and be ineffective simultaneously.