An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

There is sufficient scientific evidence that deficiency of Vitamin A can result in severe health problems, thus it is important for any country to address the issue of Vitamin A deficiency among its citizens.

The proposal to introduce a new variety of Millet in Tagus will most certainly face many regulatory issues as it can have long reaching results and effects on local flora and fauna. Also, it requires assessment on how will its introduction affect local biosphere.

Also, this proposal must be economically feasible in the long term, for the program to be continue and have desired effects. It needs to be assessed how the introduction of an new variety of millet will have effects on farmer’s income and well-being and also, that of other people directly or indirectly dependent on millet production.

Also, there is a need to evaluate the long term health effects on the local population of the country, as it might introduce another health problem, as a side effect.

A major indicator of the success and viability of the proposed program can be the government expenditure to treat diseases caused by vitamin A deficiency and the subsidy provided by the government to the farmers. The program is feasible only if there is a noticable improvement in the health of citizens of the country, thus resulting in long term economic benefits.

Further, it needs to be assured that the retail price for the new variety of Millet is required to be similar, equal, or preferably lower than that of other, regular variety of millet. Also, the new variety of millet must taste same, or better that the regular variety. Higher retail costs or a different taste might impact its adoption among the local population, which might result in failure of the original objective.

Long term environmental impact must also be considered, as it might result in a poor soil quality, which is unfit for growing other crops or any crops in the long run.

For any country, healthcare is very important for the betterment of the citizens of that country. Thus it is important for the government of Tagus, to introduce and promote the new variety of millet, rich in Vitamin A, after considering factors mentioned above.