Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The former argument states that people living in areas affected with cow flu infections should be inoculated whereas the latter states that since there is a small possibility that the inoculation might result in death, the inoculation should not be admistered regularly. Both of the arguments contain flaws and certain evidence is required to deal with the issues.

Firstly, the mortality rate for persons infected with cow flu is not considered, which is a serious flaw in the provided argument. If the mortality rate is considerably small or negligible, then it makes no sense to have any inoculation practices to begin with, as it is not prefered to consider routine inoculation, which might result in deaths, although few.

Secondly, the first argument states that "many lives might be saved" this might imply that there are considerable amount of mortalities due to the cow flu disease, it does not specify the region or area or the number of people infected, also, there is no quantification of mortality rate, which would be a very important factor in deciding wheather it would be feasbile to admisinter innoculations or not.

Assuming that the disease has high to very high mortality rat, it would be more appropriate to go with the second argument, i.e. to innoculate locals, where the cases of the cow flu are detected. Although it might result in some or few deaths initially, it might result in considerablely low mortality, if we consider all the cases of infections which might have resulted if we might have not innoculated the local population.

Also, it is obvious that, if the people wold know that there is a slight possibility that he/she might die as a result of the inoculation, the person might resist getting inoculated, this might lead to civil disharmony, thus awareness among people about pros and cons about getting inoculated is necessary.

We can also consider the concept of 'heard immunity', which states that if people, generally population surrounding locations which are epicenteres of such diseases, are immune to the disease (which is possible through inoculation), this might result in overall low transmission/infection rates for the disease, as the disease might not have host/carrier to carry the virus (cow flu) to the next host.

To conclude, I would say that there are many factors involved in deciding the right course of action in the given argument, the final decision should be tahen after taking suggestions or evaluation all possibilities involved to decide wheather to inoculate the locals or not.