The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine. "A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

The faster growth and higher margin is main concern for success of firm. A firm can be more successful if the peoples are working at there are more arduous and sincere about their work. While it may be true that people sleep less and dedicate their leisure time to do more work to get faster growth of business, this author’s argument does not make a cogency between amount of less sleep and success of the firm. This argument rife with holes and assumption, and thus, not strong enough to lead the association between success of firm with less sleep.

Citing survey by considering 300 male and female shows that if the executives of the firms take sleep less than 6 hours then firm would get more success. It is not clear ,however, the scope and validating of that survey. The argument assume that less sleep of executive would be the major factor of higher margin and escalating the growth of firm. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid, reliable , it can not be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

Additionally, Success of the any firm is depend on every employee who are working in firm. Here survey about only just executive of firms. The argument never addresses the labor’s sleep who are also essential part of the firm. The author also does not mention those people who take more sleep and also would got more growth and success of firm. It is possible that people working less by doing smart work than the hard work may get more benefit from the firms. Furthermore, the argument omit the important evidence such as what type of business is. For example, if the business is about software making organization then that organization need smart work than hard work. So that, software companies need more sleep than doing more time work.

Secondly, if business is about car manufacturer then they need more time to work with car . So it might be possible that this car manufacturer organization’s employee need less than 6 hours sleep to get growth of organization. In addition to this, this survey is done by considering only small number of people. To strengthen his/her argument, the author would get benefit from asking a wide range.

Moreover, the author does not effectively clarify the care about which category of employee should hire because in any firm many type of employees are there and here the argument is about only executive of firms. However, this author’s argument is not likely significantly persuade the correlation between sleep of person and prosperity of the firm. If author wish to prove less sleep is primary factor of successful firm, they must consider the other potential parameters.