The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument presents a couple of assumptions to arrive at the conclusion that in order to succeed in business, people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night should be hired.

The argument has citied an example of a study on 300 male and female of mentian advertising executives and claims that upon studying 300 male and female advertising executives on the average number of hours they sleep, it was found that success of their firms have corelation with the number of hours they sleep. A careful analysis of the given argument brings into focus some aspects that have been ignored while framing the argument leading to a conclusion that sounds unconvincing. Let us now discuss each of these aspects individually.

Firstly, a major flaw in the argument is that there is absolutely no direct relation between sleeping for less than 6 hours and success of business. This assumptions appears to be completely iilogical. Success of business depends on good supply of chain, quality work conditions, management of the company, availability of raw material, profitability, availability of skilled and trained workforce, size of the company, experience of the employees. Moreover, success of Mentian advertising executives may be due to the conditions mentioned above instead of less sleep being a reason for their success. So, comaparison with advertising firms and their success was totally unsound.

Secondly, the company can by no means ensure that this less than 6 hours of sleep on part of executives would benefit the business. It might happen that employees will feel tired and exhausted on work due to lack of sleep and instead of working effectively they loose productivity.

This argument many have been strengthened had more evidence been included in the form of comparisions between working conditions of the firms, shift timings and duration of the executives, their family background. In its present form, due to lack of adequate evidence, the argument fails to convince the reader that the conclusion is justified.