The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given article, it is concluded that for a business firm to prosper, it must hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. The firms arrive at this conclusion based on the premises of a recent survey which was conducted on 300 male and female of mentian advertising executives. The survey found that the executives who needed less than 6 hours of sleep per night, posed higher profit margins and faster growth. However, to evaluate the argument, first we need to address the following unstated assumptions.

Firstly, the premise of the argument includes a survey of 300 male and female mentian advertising executives. There is no evidence presented so as to suggest that these 300 candidates represent the whole working force of the advertising firm. Also, there is no data to prove how these 300 executives were selected for the survey. It is highly likely that they represent just a fraction of the total working executives of the firm. For instance, if the selected 300 candidates were already dealing with sleep disorders such as insomania etc, it would lead to false sense of conclusion. Morever, the selected candidates might belong to same age group which would have certain different sleep patterns from the rest. If any of the ablove holds merit, then the conclusion drawn from the argument is flawed.

Secondly, there is no date to suggest how the associated was made of profit margin and growth with sleep paterns. There is no clarity the growth as stated in the survey is based on what factors. We must take cognizence of the fact that profit margins and growth are relative terms. On what basis, is the growth measured and how it is attributed as "faster" growth is unclear. For instnace, an exec posing a growth from 100k$ to 150k$ cannot be compared to growth from 20$ to 30$. Both are extremely different in their own terms. If the assumption is unture, it would lead to rather adverse implications especially when money is at stake.

Further, the firm's prosperity is attributed and linked directly to higher profit margins and faster growth. However, there are various attributes that would lead to a prosperous business. Here, it is concluded that only these two attribute to prosperity. Perhaps, understanding market and rivals alongside customer satisfaction are also some of the major factor for a business to propsper. If this is true, then the argument hold no water.

Moreover, it is obsurely vague how the sleep patterns and durations were calculated. Thesurvey does not mention the method which was used to conduct the same. It is highly likely that the responses regarding the sleep durations are inaccurate due to the fact that a person is asleep. For example, a person belonging to senior citizen category has a different sleep pattern and requirement as compared to a younger counterpart. If the above assumption stands unwarranted, then implicatins are rather flawed.

In conclusion the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to it's reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If author is able to to address the given unstated assumptions, then we wouldbe in better position to evaluate the viability of this argument whether to hire excutives needing less than 6 hours of sleep or no-for a business to prosper.