The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

The author shows in the study that the firms whose executives are having sleep less than 6 hours per night are having more profit margins and having faster growth. So he comes to the conclusion that the firm should hire the employees having less than 6 hours of sleep per night to grow faster. This argument of the author is not having any definite reason behind the connection of sleep and the growth of the advertising firms. However the author has lack of evidence for his assumptions which are made in the article.

Firstly, the average satisfying sleeping rate of an adult is 8 hours per night. It might be possible that the survey would have been taken only of the people who sleep less than 6 hours per night. There may be executives who might sleep for 8 hours on an average and also have the same business growth as the executives having sleep less than 6 hours per night.

Secondly, the author has only considered the factor of sleeping for the advancement of the business while there are many other factors of the employees that is necessary for the advancement of the business like skills, techniques, capability to work, efficiency to complete the work faster. With these factors the employees can contribute more to the firm. The firm should hire more capable and skillful workers rather than the ones who sleep less. If the employee sleeps less and will also have lesser skills then that it will not have so good impact on the betterment of the business.

Thirdly, in the firms where the survey has been taken, there may be other employees who might be contributing more than those executives who sleep less than 6 hours per night. It might be possible that those people might be sleeping more than 6 hours per night. There is no such specific data given by the author. The author is not clear about all the employees in the survey.

So coming to the conclusion that the person having less sleeping time and with full of skills might contribute with the author’s argument but the person should have sufficient satisfactory sleep to have fresh mind to start the work correctly. If the mind is fresh than the work can become beautiful which can benefit the firm more. Thus, the author fails in some arguments.