The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine."A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep t

In the following argument, the author claims that to burgeon the business the company has to hire employee need less that 6 hours of sleep per night, the conclusion of the argument is based on the premises. Firstly, the author is citing a study including 300 male and female indicating a correlation between their sleeping hours and the company success. Secondly, the study reporting that who need no more than 6 sleeping hours per night, will lead to higher profit and faster growth. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora on assumptions that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the argument readily states a study by stating 300 male and female, but there are multifarious factors in the study that remains elusive and untraceable. Such as, firstly, the sample size, it is representative for generalization for the whole people. Secondly, the kind of demographic data in the study for example, the age is a very important indicator for productivity, older people tend to sleep fewer hours per night than the young people and is not mandatory indicating more business flourish. Moreover, the gender differences, type of meals, presences of diseases and type of it. All these factors play the major role of sleeping hours number.

Second, even there is a positive and concrete relation between the fewer sleeping hours and more success, this does not necessarily indicate the conspicuous relation between the two events. In other words, the author fails to mention how they concluded this result, how the strong relation is. So, building decisions depends on weak study by hiring who sleep less than 6 hours to increase productivity is implausible.

Last but not least, the recommendation above for hiring people need shorter sleeping hours to thrive the work coming with none sense, and it is better to arrange real traits for the good worker such as their education degrees and majors, experiences they have, and extracurricular activities and workshops they did, in order to improve the company progress.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one of the key factors. Namely, the relation between fewer sleeping hours and more success and productivity was equivocal. So, without complete information, the argument unsubstantiated and open to debate.