The following appeared as part of an article in the education section of a Waymarsh city newspaper:

"Throughout the last two decades, those who earned graduate degrees found it very difficult to get jobs teaching their academic specialties at the college level. Those with graduate degrees from Waymarsh University had an especially hard time finding such jobs. But better times are coming in the next decade for all academic job seekers, including those from Waymarsh. Demographic trends indicate that an increasing number of people will be reaching college age over the next 10 years; consequently, we can expect that the job market will improve dramatically for people seeking college-level teaching positions in their fields."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument concludes that people seeking college-level teaching positions will find it easier to get the jobs in the next ten years. To support this conclusion, the author cites the demographic data that indicates the number of people reaching college age will be increasing in the next decade. However, I think this argument is not convincing, as it’s flawed for following reasons:

First of all, the author readily assumes that limited population at college age is the main cause of the difficulty of finding collage level academic jobs. However, it’s well known that the criteria of those academic positions is getting higher and higher with the overall academic improvement. Hence, it’s not surprised that those who have graduate agrees will find it hard to get the jobs because they are competing with those who have master or PHD degrees. Consequently, there’s no warranty that the increasing college-age population will dramatically improve the job market for those who have graduate degree.

Moreover, even if the limited population is the main cause for difficulty of find the college academic jobs, it’s not necessarily indicating that the increasing number of people at college age will help with the situation. More people reaching college age also means that more people is reaching the age to graduate from university. There will be more people who has graduate degree competing with each other on the academic positions. Therefore, the demographic trends cited can not substantiate author’s conclusion.

In summary, this argument is not compelling as it commits fallacy of oversimplification and careless conclusion. To make proper conclusion, the author would have to take other factors into consideration. If the author could illustrate the population at college age is the main cause of difficulty getting academic jobs and eliminate that possibility of the increasing competition with the increased population, this argument will be more reasonable.