The following appeared as part of a campaign to sell advertising time on a local radio station to local businesses:

"The Cumquat Café began advertising on our local radio station this year and was delighted to see its business increase by 10 percent over last year's totals. Their success shows you how you can use radio advertising to make your business more profitable."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

This argument claims that local radio advertising will help local businesses to make their businesses more profitable, by taking an example of Cumquat café, which was able to achieve a 10% increase in business over last 10 years’ total after using advertising on its local radio station. The line of reasoning is that the same approach in café is also applicable to other types of local businesses. I found this is not sound, however, because it’s not necessary that the same thing will happen on other businesses. It depends on many other factors.

First of all, this argument fails to differentiate the other local businesses from the café shop. It’s not surprising that the café shop is able to attract customers with radio advertising because most of their targeted customers are those who will listen to the radio station and are willing to try the new stuff advertised on it. However, for some other businesses like professional electronic product, for example, most of their targeted customers are professional engineers who are more willing to investigate their desired products online or through professional consultants than listening to the advertisement on radio stations.

Secondly, this argument fails to address other factors other than the radio advertising that might help the Cumquat café to gain the increased profits this year. A business’s success depends on many important factors like demands for the product, pricing and overall competition. It’s very likely that Cumquat café’s success in this year is because of the creative new products, attractive discount promotion or less competition nearby, etc. It will be more compelling if this argument could provide some convincing evidence like customer survey or detailed annual report of Cumquat café, to prove that it did benefit from radio advertising.

Finally, this argument fails to explain how does the radio advertising program works for the local business. It didn’t mention whether the radio station is able to tailor the advertising for different businesses according to their different needs. Different businesses have different targeted customers, some of them will want their advertisement to be launched right after the music session because their targets are those who love music, while some of them will want their adverting time to be between the rush hours because their targets are the drivers, etc. It’s very important that the radio advertising can adapt itself to those different needs so that it could really help those businesses to gain more profits. However, this argument didn’t make any further clarification on this aspect.

In summary, I don’t think this argument is convincing because it omitted a lot of factors that should be addressed in order to make proper conclusion. If the author has considered the difference between businesses, the other possible factors of a business’s success and the ability of the radio station to tailor the advertising, this argument would be more convincing.