The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

"This past winter, 200 students from Waymarsh State College traveled to the state capitol building to protest against proposed cuts in funding for various state college programs. The other 12,000 Waymarsh students evidently weren't so concerned about their education: they either stayed on campus or left for winter break. Since the group who did not protest is far more numerous, it is more representative of the state's college students than are the protesters. Therefore the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the protesting students."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

This argument claims that the 200 protesting students from Waymarsh state college, who protested against proposed cuts in funding for some college programs in past winter, should not brought any attention from the state legislature. The author drew the conclusion based on the fact that the number of the students who did protest was much larger than that of who did. I think this argument is not sound, however, as it fails to take some other important factors into consideration.

Firstly, the author fails to consider some other possibilities that prevent the remaining students from traveling to the state capitol building even if they opposed against the state’s proposal. The protest happened in the time of winter break, it’s very likely that most of the non-local students were not in town and they couldn’t travel back in a short time to support the protest. On the other hand, if there were too many protesting students traveled to the state capitol building, the local transportation would not be able to handle the traffic. So the group of protesting students must keep tight and organized.

Secondly, the author drew a wrong assumption that presence at the protest is the only channel for the students to express their opinions. There are some other channels for the students to express their opinion other than protesting at the street, for example, writing email/letter to the corresponding authority or posting article on some particular websites, etc. Apparently, the author overlooks all those channels and only keep the eyes on the group of students protesting on the street.

Finally, the local newspaper has no right to represent all the other 12,000 students without taking any action to investigate furtherly. If the author really need to figure out the true voice from each student, only having all the students to participate on a vote or survey (no matter online or offline) can let the truth coming out.

In sum, I think this argument is not convincing enough because it omitted a lot of factors that should be addressed. If the author can consider the possibilities that prevent the students from protesting on street, investigate furtherly on other channels and take an action to survey the real opinion of the students who did not protest, this argument will be more compelling.