The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

While the argument seems convincing, it is depenedent on certain assumptions like the students who complete the proposed unpaid community service time will become charitable members of the society, the students themselves will do the charity work without any subterfuge and that the students will gain real-world relevant working experience by doing charity work.

The univeristy imposes unpaid community service for atleast 8 hours per month for a total of 9 months as a requirement for graduation. It assumes that this prescribed time for community service will increase the humanity in students but it fails to consider the fact that most students complete this for the sake of graduating and not to develop their altruistic nature, which means that for most of them the motive will be to graduate and not to help others. When the students will not have a good motive to help others then the university's objective to produce charitable members of the society will be failed.

The argument also assumes that all the students will be aboveboard in completing the community service, but the university fails to understand that without proper supervision, some students will find a way to circumvent it . Hence, proper supervision and monitoring of students while they are performing the charity work is necessary for the university to succeed in this program.

The argument assumes that the charity can help students gain real world working experience but the fields that the students graduate in, will have a different working experience in the future and hence, this statement will be fallacious. Although, students can increase their humanity and can display probity at their work places, the charity may not allow the students to gain real world working experience.

Hence, the above points need to be considered inorder to examine the argument.