The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.*

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.*

The argument asserts that the birth order have impact on an individual's levels of stimulation based on a recent study, which results from that among eighteen sample rhesus monkeys, firstborn infant monkey produces higher hormone cortisol than their siblings and the same phenomenon can be detected on humans. It is inculpable to conclude such a theory from the said facts, but the argument is so cursory that it omits considerable reasoning approaches, which might invalidate the credibility of the argument per se.

First and foremost, the conclusion is extrapolated from a study of eighteen rhesus monkeys. It is questionable that the certain species of monkeys can represent the whole species of monkeys not to mention other species. Even though we accede that the rhesus can bear such a role to predict other species of monkeys, the utilized maker - hormone cortisol - can't be introduced to assess the individual's levels of stimulation without abundant proof. Because the studied object is the relationship between the birth order and the individual's levels of stimulation, then all the factors except birth order are supposed to be eradicated. However, the study obviously violates the principle of single variable for it involves the age of the monkeys, or rather, the different maturity level of monkeys, which might, to some extent, weaken the authenticity of the study.

Second, the author mentions that the similar phenomenon can be detected on humans. Apparently the author considers monkeys and humans as two species to consolidate the argument, but there might exist bias on the selected sample like that there are only eighteen rhesus monkeys taken into account and the author even doesn't provide the information of human participants in the study. Although we accept the sample is indiscriminate, there are still obstacles for the author to put forward the result, because there might be certain similarity between monkeys and humans that is attributed to the result, similarity which can not be found on other species such as cats, birds.

Third, the author includes finding about first-time mothers, which have higher levels of cortisol than those who already have several offsprings. This finding is not cogent to verify the conclusion since the first-time mother is not necessarily the first-born, which means the higher cortisol of the first-time mother doesn't represent higher cortisol of the first-born infant. In addition, the finding doesn't offer information of the fetus, meaning the author omits the target of the study, which incurs more holes in the conclusion.

All in all, the author is in need of supplementing strong evidence to render the conclusion reasonable and defendable. Just as mentioned above, exacting variable control methods should be considered and the studying sample should cover more distinct species to avoid bias and deviation so as to champion a general and universal conclusion. Moreover, redundant and irrelevant information is to be discarded and effective evidence is supposed to be illustrated with arranged logic, such as the fist-time mother example, to some degree, digressing from the core analysis, needing modifying to support the cardinal argument.