The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

In the preceding argument, the author states that higher level of cortisol comes with first monkey's baby and human's baby that lead to increase the activity level. Further, he states that the first monkey's pregnancy produce more cortisol compering with the multi-pregnancy. Hence, in the first glance it may plausible. However careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of explanations that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, the author states that first monkey's baby has higher level of cortisol when it is facing stimulus. In deed, the appropriate explanation that lacking information and experience could be the real cause of increasing the cortisol level and because they are highly dependent on their parents. Then, the test time is important indicator for the cortisol level, making the test in specific time play a major role to determine the level of cortisol. Further illustration, cortisol level at night is higher than the day time. Thus, doing the test for the first baby's monkey at night will for sure result high level even there is no stimulus.

Secondly, he states that the first human's baby has higher level of cortisol compering with other children. Another explanation might be accountable for the increase of cortisol level in firstborn humans presented in the study, that increasing cortisol might be due to strong emotions between the first baby and his parents and this feeling completely different from other siblings, and because the first baby is very dependent on his parents that will lead to high level of cortisol. Moreover, higher level of cortisol when the child see his parents after absence is part of complete reaction systems and some action is affected to increase the cortisol level by indirect way.

Thirdly, the author states that the cortisol level in the first pregnancy is higher than multi-pregnancies. The best explanation that higher level due to lack of experience, and there is a lot of changes in her body that leads to higher cortisol level and is not the main cause is the first pregnancy. Furthermore, higher cortisol level due to higher level of anxiety, fear and fatigue all these factors could be the cause of higher cortisol level. Thus, is not necessarily that higher level of cortisol will transfer it to the first baby. Further elaboration, the baby presents in close system inside the uterus and is not easy to pass anythings to him. In sum, all these explanation could mitigate the value of the previous facts.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide one of the key factors. Namely, all the previous facts are equivocal. So, without complete explanation and discussion the facts the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.