The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The committee, planning for a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava, recommends reducing the funding allocated for education during the next decade, for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. The committee has reached to this recommendation observing the diminishing birth rate in the city. However, before evaluating the argument, specific evidence must be provided for these following cases.

First of all, it is important to evaluate whether the birth rate in the city, five years ago, was a significant number. The committee assumes five years ago the birth rate was quite high. However, this may not be the case. It is very possible that five years ago, the birth rate was a very small number like only 2 percent. Then last year, the birth rate must be 1 percent according to the prompt. This is not a significant decrease if the number of population in the city Caltrava is quite low. If the birth rate was 90 percent five years ago, then it must be a significant decline in the birth rate. The argument fails to address this and so is seriously flawed.

Secondly, it is important to evaluate whether only the students of Calatrava city are enrolled in the public schools of the city. The committee prematurely assumes that no one except the students of the city studies in those schools. In reality, this may not be the case. It is very possible that students from nearby cities attend these public schools and they provide a significant portion in the total number of students. If this case has merit, then less number of the students from Calatrava city will not have that much effect and the number of students in schools won’t decrease significantly. The argument fails to consider this and so does not hold water.

Finally, it is very important to evaluate whether adult population of the city will really increase. The committee, without any evidence, assumes that the number of adults in the will grow substantially. However, this may not happen. It is quite likely that in near future many adults will leave the city and start living in another place. If this happens, then increasing city facilities and programs will not have any satisfactory result. The argument fails to provide evidence for this and so is seriously weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it holds, is seriously flawed as it relies on many unwarranted assumptions which may not be valid. If the committee is able to provide enough evidences for the above stated three cases and conduct a more careful study, then argument will be evaluated properly and the recommendation can be taken in account otherwise it will remain flawed as it on surface.