The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation committee propounds the ten-year budget for the city of Calavatra to fund for facilities prominently used by adults. The committee is proposing this keeping in mind that the previous year’s birthrate was half of that of five years ago, and assumes that there will be drastic drop in the population of children. However, this argument by the committee faces three major loopholes.

The argument specifies that the birth rate of previous year has been half of that of five years ago. But this does not indicate that there is a trend of birth rates decreasing with every year. Nor does it give a quantitative measure of the average decrease in birthrate in the city of Calatrava. It is possible that the previous years was a mere exception, and there is no trend of decreasing birthrates. Or it is also possible that five years ago, the birthrates were exponentially high, thereby making previous year’s birthrates fall in the normal range. If either of these statements are true, then the argument becomes irrelevant.

The committee also assumes that the number of students enrolled in public schools will drastically decrease. With the evidence provided by the committee it is possible that the there might be a reduction in the enrolment of students. But that is confirmed only for one grade of students. The rest of the grades at school might still have copius students enrolled. And this in turn will not suffice for reducing the funds budgeted for education.

Furthermore, the argument also assumes that the adult population will surely increase. But it very much possible that the adults in future might migrate to other places for work or higher studies, thereby weakening the argument to use funds for facilities used by adults.

The argument propounded by the recommendation committee is as of now full of loopholes and weak. If the committee manages to provide solid evidences like city surveys or quantifiable trends, it is possible to consider the argument.