The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that increasing industrial in freeway areas will reduce crime rate and increases taxes, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case for doing the same program in the opposite side of the city. It is easy to understand that for constructing factories the existing houses residents should be convinced to move out, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her claim.

First of all, the author assumes that there is a relationship between growing industrial building near freeway and reducing in crimes; however, the author does not prove this correlation. Declined crime rates could be due to police force that can be totally unrelated to the author proposal. Also, increased tax revenues might be due to other factors like tourists. So, the author needs to consider other factors that can affect the crime percentage and tax profits.

Additionally, people might not agree to relocate their houses and apartments in near neighborhood which can cause problems with an urban renewal program. For example, there can be different views, different housing structure, different crime rate, and also different traffic in near neighborhood. Even if all of these factors were same for near region, people still might not agree for relocation. To strengthen his/her argument, the author should take a survey form resident because they might not willing to relocate.

Last but not least, the author compares two different sides of the city in two different times which is not approvable. An urban renewal program happened ten years ago when much more factories were required. But, today with much more technologies, on the opposite side of the city, most of the industries are already exist. Thus, the freeway side areas might not be needed for those buildings. Also, the crime frequency in two different sides of the city might not be the same.

The author can make his/her claims persuasive when he/she gathers information about correlation between crime rate, tax, and reducing housing in freeway areas, people’s desire for repositioning their houses, and also similarities and differences between two side of the city from last ten years to now. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.