The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument draws conclusion that "we should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime." While this may be true, but in order to completely evaluate this argument, we need more evidence. This essay tries to explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Firstly, the author claims that vandalism in city of Belleville declined within a month after installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district. Whether this declining remain stable in long time. It is possible that, the declination was temporary (Because the vandals are not familiar with new system and vandalism decrease until they familiarize.), and after one month, vandalism get back. If we had evidence that vandalism decreased just temporary, it would weaken the argument.

Secondly, the argument state that "The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant." It is possible that vandalism would increase in the absence of police patrols on bicycles in the business district. The argument would have been strengthening if had evidence that vandalism would not increase in the absence of the police patrols.

Finally, the argument concludes that "we should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime." The city of Amburg and Belleville maybe different in a lot of terms. For instance, it is possible that in one city, objection and in another one psychology problem were the cause of vandalism. If we had evidence that two cities are exactly similar, that would strengthen the argument.

In summary, we need more evidence to completely understanding of strength and weakness of the argument. Evidences, such as similarity of the two cities, rate of vandalism in the absence of police patrols in the city of amburg and rate of vandalism in the city of Belleville after installed high-intensity lighting for long time period, all are needed to assess the argument.