The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above argument the author stated that increasing use of salycilates was the reason of decreasing trend in the average number of headaches that are reported by the participants in a research, because salicylate is from the same chemical family as aspirin which is used to treat headache. However, this explanation seems to be logical at the first glance but, getting accurate on the argument, reveals that the author’s logic is ripe of fallacious assupmtions that he/she based the argument on them.

First, it is assumed that because salicylate and aspirin are from the same family, so they would have same effects, too. This assumption is not reasonable, because the same chemical family, could refer to their chemical factors that construct them but does not necessarily, mean that they have same outcomes in human body. Their various molecular structures can creat various results. If it was a false assumption that due to their same chemical family,they will have same remedial effects so it could not be concluded that salycilate will relieve headache as aspirin and so additive amounts of it reduce headache in mantia.

The other point is that, the author assumed that all of the participants, consumed foods that contains salycilates as preservative material. If there are some people among participants that have not used such foods or have received lower amounts of salycilate, then it can negates the author’s conclusion that salicylate decrease headache rate among participants.

The next falacy is the presumption that the participant in research was the correct indicators of all the mentia residents, if it was a sample with small number of people relative to mentia’s total population, or researchers have made mistakes in selective factors that based on which participants have been chosen , researches result can not be valid to rely on them in order to assert salycilate can decrease headache.

To summerize, it can be seen that there are various assuptions, that authors fails to consider them exactly in order to have a cogent argument.