The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter of the Waymarsh Times asserts that in order to solve traffic problems and reduce commuting time a policy which was implemented in nerby city of Garville should be repeated. The author of the argument gives as some evidences which should carefully scrutinized in order to give a comprehensive estimation of soundness of the argument.

First of all, the writer compares results of a state traffic survey which was conducted three years ago with a recently completed one. The usage of this data is plaussible and reasonable in case, the situation today and three years ago remain the same. Moreover, people who were interviewed should be the same as well. For instance, the possibility exists that during three year span many of local businesses have relocated their offices from the center of the city to its outskirts perhaps to reduce expenditures on rent. In this case, the traffic may be the same but distance which people have to travel increased.

What is more, the samples in both researches may differ from each other. For example, if three years ago mainly youngsters were surveyed and a recent study was conducted with olderly, the discrepance in results may be explained via drivers' behavior. For instance, senior citizens may drive slower and therefore spend more time on the commute. Consequenly, the probability exists that actual situation does not match with author's belief. In this case, we should learn more about it due to abstain from hasty actions.

Besides, the author of the letter proposes to repeat the policy of the nearby city of Galville. The city creates a motivation for people who share rides to work. Despite the fact that this policy has demonstrated positive results in the neighboring city, it may not work properly in Waymarsh due to the fact that some conditions may be distinct. For instance, Garville probably has several big plants or mills where a significant per cent of local residents is working. In this case, they indeed may travel together to work and it will be convenient. But what is about Waymarsh? Does it have similar conditions? If a small business is the main source of employment the shared rides may be not a good idea to it.

In conclusion, although the writer asserts that implementation of policy which motivates drivers to share their cars is work nicely in Garville, he or she has failed to show that repetition of it will have similare result in Waymarsh. Therefore, the proposal should be additionally studied before it will be accepted and implemented.