The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Move Production Company suggests to allocate a greater share of its budget to advertisement next year. However before the policy is conducted, two questions need to be answered.

First of all, the insight of movie reviewers may be different from the public. To be specific, perhaps the movie reviewers tend to appreciate the movies discussing about current society issues, such as environment pollution, poverty or wars, while the public enjoys watching movie for entertainments. Thus, the higher percentage of positive reviews is higher from reviewers while the audiences are fewer does not directly imply the content is not reaching to the viewers. Maybe the audiences do not like style of the Super Screen-produced movies this year. It is suggested that an analysis of Super Screen-produced movies need to be considered. If the above scenario is possible, then the original memo does not hold true.

Second, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies does not directly imply that they lack of the awareness of Super Screen-produced movies. There is a possibility that the public lose interest in all of the movies currently, not only specific to the movies produced from Super Screen. In the era of online streaming, people tend to enjoy shorter video clips from friends around them rather than the long-hour movies from producers. Nevertheless, a detailed survey for viewers for all of the movies from movie productions needs to be evaluated before making any decision.

In conclusion, the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Move Production Company contains two invalid assumptions as above mentioned, and these assumptions need to be verified through detailed survey before making any decision.