Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different perspectives of making friends, some of them prefer maintain friendships with familiar friends, while others rather make new friends. In my opinion, I prefer maintaining friendships with a small number of friends based on three following reasons.

First of all, handing out with familiar friends make people feel relax. and people might feel nervous while meeting new friends. For examples, I maintain my friendships with high school classmates by inviting them to dinner once per year. Since we understand each other very much, we share our common memory together, such as the prom night, Christmas party and the soccer game we had joined together in our high school period. Maintaining friendships with familiar friends make me feel extremely relax because I don't need to search for conversation topics.

Furthermore, the old friends are more willing to help than new friends. For instance, once I had a financial crisis, and I had no money left for a whole semester. My old friends John lent me his pocket money to help me get through my difficulty. Conversely, my new friends Anne walked away from me because she though I had a immoral personality. The longer friendship can improve the trust between each other, and they are more willing to support each other while they have some difficulties.

On the other hand, some people may argue that meeting new friends enable them to be inspire by exchanging new ideas and new information with new friends. Admittedly, new friends can bring new concept which can stimulate us to explore new domain. However, I believe that it depends on the characteristics of your friends. To be specific, maybe your friends are journalists, and they also have news to share about. Or perhaps your friends are open-minded, and they learn something new from online courses. Making new friends is not directly lead to explore new knowledge.

To sum up, I strongly agree with the statement, the ability to maintain friendships with a small groups of people is more important for happiness rather than keep making new friends. There is a Chinese old saying states that old friend is like a cup of tea, the longer you taste it, the better it would taste. And I do enjoy maintain the forever friendships with my friends.