Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Society is often divided on major issues involving government spending. One group believes that the governments should invest more on the art industry rather than the sport industry, while another group states that we should spend more budget on the sport industry. In my opinion, I believe there are stronger reasons for spending on the sport industry based on the two following reasons.

First of all, the sport competition can increase the national identity by gathering citizens' minds together.

For example, during the 2016 Olympic games, the athlete Miss. Dai, who is one of the most talented badminton players from my country, defeated the players from India. Moreover, I remembered that the crowds on the streets yelled out loud with joy by the victory of our nations. The next day, the great news of the badminton game was splashed across the headline of the newspapers. As a result, the atmosphere and identity in a country can be truly enhanced by the positive impact from national sport competitions.

Second, the encouragement of athletics can increase the interest of sport, and in turn enhance the health status of citizens. Take annual swimming activity in Sun Moon Lake, Taiwan as an example, the government in our country financially supports the annual activity, which attracts more than 10 thousand of people to swim together during that day. Further, the citizens who successfully swim across the lake can get specific certifications, and the certifications can be viewed as a great honor and must-do event from the locals. To be specific, the support from the government increases the willingness of doing sports. If more citizens exercise regularly, then their lifestyle would be much healthier than people without exercise.

In conclusion, although art can bring some positive feedback to the country in certain circumstances, such as the improvement of aesthetics. However, the benefits from supporting the sports industry can be far beyond the art industry, which significantly improve the community cohesion and the health status for the citizens. Thus, that are the reasons why I strongly disagree with the statement that the investment in art is more appropriate to the sport.