Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people have different perspectives of whether the governments should focus on the development of Internet access rather than public transportations. However, I disagree with the statement that the governments should spend money to improve Internet access rather than improve public transportation based on two following reasons.

To begin with, public transportation is one of the fundamental constructions of a country, the citizens rely on public transportation to send them to the place they work, study or reside. It is not reasonable that there is no buses for the students to commute to their school, and there is no subway for the workers to go to their company. Although some people may argue that the parents can drive their children to the school, then they drive their car to the company. In the reality, not everyone can afford buy a car, there are many people with lower income need public transportation to maintain their living. Transportation is the duty for the government, and they should prioritize the funding of public transportation before any other policies.

Admittedly, Internet become more important than the past due to its convenience access to the world database. Thus, people may eager to access to internet everywhere. However it overstates the importance of the internet. In most cases, the knowledge which internet can be searched for, can also be found in the library. For example, if students want to look up for dictionary for their homework, they don't need to access to the internet. A dictionary can be sufficient for them. On the other hand, if the researchers in the university need to survey for journals or papers from other countries, the main library facilitates the Internet access. There is not necessary to insist to improve the Internet access that much.

Furthermore, the world tends to protect our environment because of the severe pollution. If governments improve the public transportation, and people would use buses and subways instead of driving their own cars. The issue to air pollution can be solved, and the earth can be beneficial from it.

To sum up, it is more important for governments to spend their funding on public transportations. Because the public transportations are daily requirements for the citizens, and they can decrease air pollutions. In many circumstances, the Internet access can be replace by books from the libraries. That is the reasons why I strongly disagree with the argument.