The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the manager from WWAC radio announce to change its radio format from rock music to new and talk format. However, before the memorandum is conducted by the WWAC radio station, three questions must be responded.

First of all, how do they make sure that the new residents don't like rock music format? Since they are new immigrators to this area, there are no historical data about their preference of radio station. Maybe they enjoy country music; pop music or even they enjoy rock music. On contrast, maybe people moving this area want to enjoy their retirement life, for instance they prefer go on outdoor adventure like camping or mountain climbing. Isn't that ridiculous to assume that all of the new locals must be a radio listeners. Survey and research must be conducted before trying to analyze new residents daily life instead of guessing it.

Second, the decline of music shop does not fully corresponding to less interest in music, maybe the rock music lovers use online steam for music instead. To elaborate, this is new era of moving things online. People may not go to physical store to buy music products like CD, DVD or record. People can watch Youtube music video or use Spotify. The fade away of local CD shop does not support the idea of people losing interest in music.

Even if all of their assumption made by the WWAC radio station are correct, and it is fact that news and talk format radio form from other radio station in this area is success. However, being a copycat of making same format of radio cannot lead to success.

The memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station include several unwarranted assumptions, and I suggest them to make detail survey and research before the action of changing the format of their ratio context.