People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Attitude is the reaction people demonstrate on different situation. The statement contends that people's attitude can be influenced more by surroundings than by society. In my perspective, I think attitude can be determined by both immediate situation and by society based on the different circumstances.

First, people's attitude is easily affected by the surroundings. Most of the time, people like to fit in and enjoy being a good member as a group. For instance, the audiences in the rock singer's concert are all excited. Maybe they are not the fans of the singer. However, the beats, the songs and the joy in the air make the atmosphere enjoyable. Furthermore, if you have a chance to visit Japan, you will find out that the passengers on the train or bus are extremely quiet. It is not limited to the local Japanese, the visitors from all of the world are silent on the public transportation. Thus, the surroundings can directly impact to people's attitude.

Nevertheless, the society also can affect people's attitude. If the society is safe, then the citizens would be peaceful and willing to help. In contrast, if the society were full of problems, then the people would be selfish. Let's take a popular society experiment as an example, if people see a dropping wallet on the main street of a big city, what would happen? The citizens from some countries would try to find the owner of the wallet by going to police office. Because their society encourages people to be honest. On the other hand, if a society does not have justice, and the locals may secretly hide the wallet or stole cash and credit cards from it. It is certainly that the society trend would influence people's attitude.

In conclusion, from two explanations mentioned above, both surroundings and society can affect people's attitudes. People's attitude can be influenced by different cases. That is the reason why I agree half of the statement.