All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

People possess different opinions about requirement courses in university. A group believes that history courses are important to students, while another group thinks the history courses are not pivotal for students who are not related to this subject. In my opinion, I think history courses are important to all of the students based on the following reasons.

First of all, it is important for students to acquire basic understanding of history, because it can improve their national identities. If the students know nothing about the culture and background of their countries, they would not deeply be proud of where they are coming from. Take my personal experience as an example, as a student majoring in engineering, I was reluctant to take history class when I started my first year in the university. In spite of the unwillingness, I took the history class because it was the compulsury course for acquiring my bachelor degree. However, the history courses amazed me and let me understand the hardship of advocating democracy in my country. Furthermore, I am proud to introduce my country to my international friends and be able to tell them we are the first democracy country in Asia.

Second, learning from history can prevent our next generation from repeating the same mistake again. To be specific, people in the past did something wrong sometimes. Perhaps they did not learn history classes during the time, or maybe it is not required for them to learn history. For instance, it is a tragedy that how Hitler, the one who conducted the terrible plan, tried to eliminate Jewish people by abusing his power during the war. Nowadays, people learn about how to treat others equally no matter their appearance or culture are different.

To sum up, although the professional field of a student's own study is important for their career, the benefit for learning history would not be neglected. University students can not only gain their national identities from history courses, but also prevent from repeating historical mistakes. That is the reason why I strongly agree that all university students should be required to take history courses.