Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguments involved several unwarranted assumptions, and two questions should be answered before coming to the conclusion.

First of all, the anecdotal evidence that only emphasized on eating bone broth is healthier does not represent the whole eating style of ancient people. For instance, our ancestors may not only consume bone broth, they may eat something else like potatoes, eggs or even vegetable. The evidence only explained the benefit of consuming bone broth, and it cannot be fully viewed as the total result of ancient eating style.

Second, the circumstance is different from past to now, and the argument should not threat it as same condition. To elaborate, the era of early hominids is far from now, and the living style have changed. For example, our ancestors may be strong and healthy, because they need to hunt for their own food. The result of healthy body might be the activities they did, not because the food they ate. However, modern people work in the office, and they only go for outdoor activities during day off. Maybe people are not healthy because they are too lazy to exercise. Based on the difference above-mentioned, the essential nutrients for modern people and ancestors may be different depends on their routine jobs, and there are huge gap in circumstances, and more evidence should be provided in the argument.