Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The prompt states that whether movies and televisions have more negative effects than the positive effects for the youth. However, I disagree with the statement based on the three following reasons.

First, movies and televisions are suitable for entertainment because they are indoor activities which excludes the influence from raining or storming. To be specific, people need to relax while their day off in the high pace society, in order to release the stressful pressure while working or studying. However, the weather cannot be controlled by human being, we cannot always expect to go outdoor. The movies and televisions can be the substitute entertainments for bad weather conditions.

Second, it is a ideal way to learn about cultural differences through movies and televisions. Nowadays, companies start to cooperate with partners around the world, and it is important to understand other culture due to globalization. Nevertheless, we are not able to travel around all of the countries and learn their culture in short time. The videos from televisions and movies are one of the solutions for getting familiar with other cultures. For example, I learn about important holidays such as Christmas, Easter and Halloweens in western countries though movies and televisions.

Admittedly, some people may argue that the negative effects of violence behaviors from movies and televisions, such as chasing cars or in action movie, or killing rivals in history movie. But, in my humble opinion, I believe that the independent thinking of the audiences can help them distinguish the true or false. Violence is the common issue around our society, and we cannot blame them from movies and televisions. If all of the students are well educated, it is not possible for them to learn immoral behaviors.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statements that the televisions and movies have more negative effects than the positives one for the youth. Through televisions and movies, young people can be entertained, and understand cultural differences. While others may argue the violent plots in televisions and movies, I believe that it can be distinguish for the youth by their independent thinking.