Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The plan of government's funding is a controversial topic which people often debate for. Some groups of people insist that the aesthetic fields should accept more funding from the government because they can preserve culture. Other groups of people believe that athletes should receive more support from the government since the sport competition can increase the national identity. In my perspective, I prefer the later option based on the following reasons.

First of all, the advance in sport competitions can enhance the national identity of the country and break the barriers of the past. For example, people in my countries used to fight and even divide into groups since our nation is composed of several different cultures. Surprisingly, the state-sponsored athlete in my country once got into the final in the Olympic game of Badminton, and I remembered that the citizens in our nation gathered together to cheer for our national team even if the citizens conflicted because of their skin color and accents. Furthermore, people united due to the confidence of winning in sport competition. Gradually, they identified each other as a member of our nation.

Second, the popularity of exercising can enhance the health status of citizens which is the most pivotal thing to nations. To be more specific, if the government advocates the importance of specific sport, there must be more national constructions on related sport centers or facilities. As a result, not only the athletes can be trained in better venues, but also the citizens can exercise there. The more the people exercise, the healthier they would become.

To sum up, it is beneficial for providing sponsorship to sport industry. As above mentioned, the citizens can increase their national identities and enhance their health status because of the advocations of sports from government. That is the reason why I strongly agree the statements in the prompt.