the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Leadership is the ability to lead a group of people to cooperate together and compete with others. The claim suggests that the leadership training for the youth should emphasize on cooperation, not competition. However, based on my humble definition of leadership, I believe that both of the techniques are important for a successful leader. Thus, I partially agree with the statement.

First of all, a successful leader should have the ability to unite his or her colleagues together. In real world, a professional project can not be completed by a single person. To elaborate, human being is not perfect creature, the knowledge of a group of people is much greater than an individual. That is the reason why a leader need to unite his or her pals together. Take system in a manufacturing company as an example, the manufacturing system need to integrate with upstream to downstream, and the technical leader should be a key role to break down user's requirement into individual tasks for junior engineers. Also, the technical leader should make sure each independent task is on schedule. Most important of all, all tasks should be on the same track, and be able to combine together for outcome.

Nevertheless, competition is also important for leadership, because it can drive people's passion to win. An British reasearch demonstrated that a person can get better performance in a competition with his or her rivals joining in. For example, both Samsung and TSMC, well-known semiconductor manufacturing companies, chase to develop a smaller chip for the devices for next generation. Because they are not the only company at the top peak, they strive to occupy the market share. The competition between industry leaders deliver the state of art of future mobile phones and automotive vehicles.

The leadership is complex and I strongly believe that the youth should have the ability to cooperate and compete based on certain circumstances. That is the reason why I partially agree with the statement.