The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Alone, we can walk fast. Together, we can go far. This basic principle of life applies to everyone, especially leaders. In order to breed leaders that can make huge strides in industry and government, society must train its young people by instilling a spirit of cooperation, rather than competition for the following reasons:

The major tasks of a leader are completed through constant communication. For a leader to communicate effectively and smoothly, he needs to adopt a spirit of camarederie. For example, leaders in government and industry are usually in a hierarchy. A leader has to communicate not only to those above and below him in the ladder, but also those at the same level as he is on. It will be easier to relate with them with a sense of cooperation rather than competition.

For a leader in high governmental positions, a spirit of cooperation makes it easy for leaders to relate to leaders of other societies. Many international organisations such as the World Trade Organization, the European Union and the African Union which have improved the economies of their members a great deal are based on a spirit of cooperation. A leader who views everyone else as a competition will find it difficult to improve the economic position of his country, when he shies away from such unions.

Similarly, a leader in industry and business would also benefit greatly from an attitude of cooperation than competition. Despite the highly acclaimed benefits of 'perfect competition' in a capitalist society, pragmatic experiences show the benefits of cooperating: companies benefit from economies of scale when they cooperate and site their companies near to each other, mobile phone producers benefit when they use the same technology adopted by their competitors, and so on. Thesebenefit not only the companies themselves, but the society as a whole when all companies in an industry produce optimally and efficiently.

However, proponents of a competitive society will argue that competition breeds effectiveness. This however is not enough of an excuse to imbue future leaders with behaviours as hate, hoarding, desperation, envy amongst other vices which come along with a competitive spirit; behaviours that can slow down the trajectory of any society that wishes to progress. Thus, therefore imbibing a sense of cooperation in young people will serve a society far better than instilling a sense of competition.