The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A good argument is recognized by the presence of compelling reasons. Unfortunately, the letter from the faculty is directly antithetical to this notion. The faculty committee has made two fatal assumptions for which more evidence is needed to evaluate their arguments on their merit.

Firstly, we would need to discover if the professors made their decisions as a result of the free tuition policy. This is because correlation doesn't necessarily imply causation. It may be that the cause of higher faculty retention at Oceania was a combination of various policies. The professors at Seatown may also be of a middle aged group who are unwilling to change their jobs after and also too early for retirement. Professors in this category would definitely produce a higher retention rate. Hence, to evaluate this argument, the committee will need to carry out procedures to ascertain the cause of the higher retention rate.

Secondly, do the professors at Seatown university share the same motivations with those at Oceania? It may be that the motivators of professors at Seatown are different from those of Oceania's professors. It may also be that the fees at Oceania are extremely high and the free tuition policy came to great effect. If Seatown has a cheaper fees then the policy is unlikely to work. Thus, to strengthen this argument, the faculty committee will need to provide evidence on what motivates the professors at both universities. If this evidence is provided, it will become possible to evaluate if the professors at both universities are motivated by the same things.

In conclusion, the argument above is weak, mendacious and is based on spurious assumptions. Hence, the faculty committee will need to gather the pieces of evidence stated in this article. It is only in the light of this newly compiled data that we will be able to evaluate the strength of this argument