A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights and the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The social contract is the contract between every member of the society and the society. Any member of the society is expected to adhere to its rules and he earns his rights from this contract. This is why I argue that anyone who commits a crime, in most cases, should lose his civil rights, especially the right to benefit from his or her own labor. This stance is supported by the following two points:

Firstly, punishments serve as a deterrent to crime. For example, the existence of jail term as a form of punishment has been proven to reduce crimes in many countries of the world. This is because humans value their freedom, and the many other benefits that come with having it. A threat to this would discourage anyone from going ahead to break the law. Because humans are not naturally expected to conform to rules, the threat of punishment is an effective way of eliciting obedience. The denial of civil rights is a particularly potent tool in this regard.

Secondly, the denial of the right to benefit from their own labor is a way of repaying what they have taken from the society. For example, if a convict of theft spends some jail term doing free labour, he inadvertently pays the society back for what he/she has denied it. This form of punishment also makes criminals understand the dignity in labour and be encouraged to work on their own after regaining freedom. This is a win-win situation for both society and criminal elements.

However, I believe some rights are sacrosanct and shouldn't be violated even in the treatment of criminals. Similarly, not all crimes should warrant the suspect forfeiting his rights. For example, citizens shouldn't be denied of their right to freedom from torture for any reason. Also, for little offences such as jumping the traffic lights, it would be extreme to deny a person his right to benefit from his own labor as a consequence of su.

In conclusion, deliberately breaking the social contract by committing crimes, should be met with a denial of rights from the citizen, because he has failed to earn his rights by committing a crime. Therefore, a person who commits a crime should not retain any civil rights, especially the right to benefit from his/her own labour.