Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Popular philosopher and sociologist, John Locke is popularly known for his summary of human nature where he said "the state of nature is short, cruel and brutish". It is upon this premise that I support the claim that emphasis should be placed on choosing worthy goals, instead of encouraging young people to follow their selfish dreams. I will expatiate my position in two points:

Firstly, having young people pick worthy goals that have the potential to help humanity in the long run. This is because having goals to help the human race will build a sense of responsibility in these people. For example, a youth who has a knack for music can be encouraged to become a music research who will look into the ways in which music can be used as therapeutic agent instead of 'following his dreams' of becoming a wealthy on-stage performer. Historically, the world has been changed by people who put humanity before their own personal dreams and not those who damn society and follow their dreams.

Secondly, the dreams of a young person may not remain the same forever. This is because young people are only concerned about themselves when they are still youthful. However, as one grows older and their sense of responsibility begins to develop, they may easily lose the zeal for what they taught was their dream. At this point, they realize they have squandered a huge chunk of their productive life. However, if they are encouraged to anchor their life's dreams on a goal bigger than their own selves, even when motivation is low, you remember the impact you actually want to make on the society, and how many people will be better off if you succeed. This will keep them going. It will also imbibe in them a huge sense of accomplishment after retirement.

One may want to argue that human dreams are not inherently selfish. However, I would argue that altruism is learned, and not inborn. Parents teach their kids to care to be nice, but if you leave those kids on their own, they will be selfish. Hence, dreams tend to follow the same line. Similarly, a contrary opinion could also be the capitalist belief that in following one's self-interest will ultimately ensure optimal solutions. However, i will gainsay this becaus this idea has not been proven in reality. Besides, why should we wait for an invisible hand to determine our societal outcomes when we can influence this optimality ourselves.

In conclusion, I would expect that if you have read up till this point, you would certainly agree with me that the claim that young people should be supported in pursuing lofty goals rather than following their dreams because these dreams are usually inherently selfish and may not contribute towards the improvement of human life.