The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr Karp puts forth the argument that children in Tertia island are reared by their biological parents and not the whole village based on his interview with these children. He also makes the conclusion that the observation-centered method is wrong, based on the previous conclusion. This argument is spurious from a long range and is in no way supported by the evidence that he provided. To corroborate his argument, he will need to provide supporting evidence for the following issues.

Firstly, Dr Karp assumes that the way of child-rearing in Tertia 20 years ago are same as the conditions today. It may be that the civilization and way of life in this island, as well as the way a child is raised has shifted from a communal way of life to an individual-centered culture than it was 20 years ago. In the case that has happened, it becomes impossible to disprove a research made 20 years ago using a research made in a different environmental condition. To strengthen this argument, Dr Karp will have to provide evidence to prove that the way of life of Tertians today is the same as it was 20 years ago.

Also, Dr Karp's conclusion relies on the assumption that children mostly talk about the person who raised them than the person who did not. It is quite possible that the interview was structured in a way that asked more questions about the person who raised the children. Further evidence is also needed to show that the questions asked during the interview werre centered around child-rearing, instead of asking them about their parents.

Similarly, it is important to ask if the sample of children interview represents the entire population of children on Tertia. It is quite possible that the interview was centered on children of a certain age who spend more time with their biological parents than with others, and therefore talk about them the most. It is also possible that the sample size is skewed towards a section of Tertia Island whose culture is different from the other parts. For the argument to be valid, Dr Karp must prove that his sample is representative of the entire population of Tertia, and is also large enough to base the conclusion on.

The argument in its current form is untenable and invalid. However, if Dr Karp is able to provide evidence to show that his sample is representative, it becomes possible to evaluate the validity of his argument and maybe accept it as valid.